Where It All Began…

Many people think that you have to leave the country in order to have a love for traveling, which couldn’t be further from the truth. For the first 18 years of my life, I had never left American soil, and I was just as obsessed with traveling then as I am now. When I was in second grade, we did a project at school talking about our dreams. The project was for Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and the project was actually meant to be more of our dreams for what type of world we would like to live in. Some of my classmates said that their dream was to live in a world without car accidents; others had dreams of world peace. However, my dream was to see all 50 U.S. states in my lifetime. Looking back on it now, it’s kind of funny how even at 8, I couldn’t get traveling off my mind.

39746_414254168682_5492228_n

The first major trip I took was with my family when I was 12 years old. We piled in the truck, attached the camper, and set off for two weeks to explore the western part of the United States. We drove through Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, South Dakota, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, Utah, Colorado, and Kansas. I had only been to two of those states before, so it was definitely a bucket list trip!When I was 15, my family once again took two weeks to explore the western and southern parts of the United States. This time we saw Illinois, Missouri, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and Kansas. This trip added five more checks to my bucket list.

In the 20 years of my life, I have been fortunate enough to see 36 states. Even if you can’t afford to leave the country, there are so many beautiful places to see here in the United States. We have red rock deserts, mountains, grasslands, oceans, waterfalls, and tons of amazing sites to see.

Even though I’ve been to five other countries, the United States will always be one of my favorites. Don’t let a fear of flying or a lack of money hold you back from traveling. There’s plenty to see right here at home!
I’ll post more details about my trips around the U.S. in the future.

Safe travels! 🙂

-Emily

Leave a Reply

