Visiting Neuschwanstein

Before I left for Europe, I honestly didn’t know what there was to do in southern Germany. I figured there were some sights to see, but I didn’t know what they were. So when my friend excitedly told me that we would be visiting Neuschwanstein Castle, I feigned excitement and quickly Googled what I was about to see. I can’t believe that I didn’t know about something as beautiful as this castle!

IMG_2130

When you first arrive at Neuschwanstein, you will notice that there are actually two castles in the area.

IMG_2111

While the other castle isn’t nearly as pretty as Neuschwanstein, it is surrounded by stunning scenery.

IMG_2125

To get to Neuschwanstein, you will have to take a 30-40 minute uphill hike. There are also horse-drawn carriages that you can take that cost a few Euros. If you do chose to walk, there are several restaurants and souvenir shops along the way if you need to take a break.

IMG_2112

The close up views of the castle are not the amazing views that you’ve probably seen in pictures. However, once you make it to the castle, you have to option to pay for a tour of the inside. My German friend said that the views of the inside are not worth the money, so we decided to skip it.

IMG_2114

IMG_2120

To get unobstructed views of the entire castle, you will have to continue your hike. It took us 10 minutes to make it to the look out bridge that overlooks the castle.

IMG_2137

One of my favorite parts of traveling is discovering new things that I didn’t know existed. I am so glad that I got to see this amazing castle that was used as the inspiration for Sleeping Beauty’s castle! It was one of my favorite sights in Germany.

Safe travels! 🙂

-Emily

One thought on “Visiting Neuschwanstein

Leave a Reply

