Popular ≠ Overrated

Most of the places we visited in New York were popular tourist spots.  While traveling, I usually have the desire to do things that help me experience what the locals live like, but this was not the goal during our four short days in New York.  So, without further ado, here are places in New York that are completely worth the hype:

9/11 Memorial – This touching tribute to the victims of the September 11th terrorist attacks left me with a new feeling of appreciation for my country.  All the names of those who died on that day are engraved around the perimeter of where the Twin Towers used to stand.  If a woman died while pregnant, the memorial even acknowledges her unborn child.  Next to the victim’s name is a spot where a white rose will be placed on his or her birthday every year.

IMG_6473IMG_6486

IMG_6481Dylan’s Candy Bar – If you have a sweet tooth (like I do!) or enjoy colorful, happy places (like I do!) then this is absolutely a must-do on a trip to New York.  It’s got something for every taste and is actually not as expensive as I had anticipated.  I felt like…a kid in a candy store. 🙂

IMG_6530

IMG_6529

Serendipity 3 – Emily and I had to wait for awhile to get seated here, but it was worth the wait.  The food was great and we split a frozen hot chocolate.  For those who haven’t seen the movie, the restaurant is featured in Serendipity with John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale.  Emily and I got seated at the table they sat at in the movie!  We didn’t even try to so I guess you could say it was…serendipity. 😉

IMG_6542

This certainly does not cover all the places we went, but these are some of my favorites.  Don’t avoid places just because they’re touristy; after all, you’re a tourist!  I try not to appear too vulnerable in order to avoid getting taken advantage of, but I also don’t want to hide the fact that I’m on an adventure and having the time of my life. 🙂

Happy exploring!

-Ali

Leave a Reply

