Living Life on the Edge in Toronto

Without a doubt, the summer of 2015 was the best summer of my life. I went to six different countries, reconnected with friends I hadn’t seen in years, and spent some weeks working 60+ hours (okay, maybe that part wasn’t quite so amazing).

But the absolute coolest thing I did all summer, was participate in the EdgeWalk in Toronto, Canada.

IMG_0311

When asked what I was afraid of, I used to say: spiders, heights, and snakes. After July of 2015, that list is only spiders and snakes. Hanging 1,168 feet in the air really has a way of vanquishing your fears.

My family took a six day vacation to Niagara Falls and Toronto this summer. When I learned that we were going to spend roughly two days in Toronto, I immediately began researching what there was to do in the city. The CN Tower is the most famous landmark in the city so I began looking up information about visiting the tower. I happened to come across the EdgeWalk website while researching and casually mentioned it to my dad. Honestly, I kind of forgot about it in the midst of planning to go to Europe; my father had not.

On Canada Day, we woke up with plans to head to the CN Tower. Our hotel was less than a mile from the tower so we opted to walk because we didn’t have any other plans for the day and wanted to enjoy the city. The CN Tower was within view the entire walk there and got me even more excited for the EdgeWalk.

IMG_0256

We bought our tickets on arrival and headed to the preparation room. Groups go out to the Edge in 30 minute shifts, but first you have a 30 minute preparation course. During this course, they explained the safety precautions and what exactly we would be doing on the walk.

There were only 6 of us in the group, plus our guide. Our group was very diverse; there was a German man in his 50s who traveled all over the world and participated in thrill seeking activities. There was also a father and his nine year-old daughter from Brooklyn in our group. My dad, my brother, and I rounded out the group. I really loved the small group aspect and more personalized attention. When you’re that high up and at the mercy of your guide, you don’t want to feel forgotten!

We first took in the amazing views of the city. We were blessed with a clear day, but it was very windy.

IMG_0259IMG_0266

We then started off with smaller “activities” to build up to eventually leaning our entire body off the edge of the building. Our tour guide made sure we all felt comfortable and never pressured us to participate in any of the activities if we didn’t want to.

IMG_0286

Toward the end of our 30 minutes, we began to feel more confident. I started to lose a sense of how high up I really was. Once we finished the EdgeWalk, we were able to go to the observation deck directly above where we were walking. Seeing the walkers from above really put in perspective how far off the edge we really were.

IMG_0273

(Obviously I zoomed in quite a bit to take this photo.)

Once we left the building, we looked up to see if we could spot the current batch of walkers. I couldn’t believe how tiny they looked!

If you look closely in the next picture, you can see the tiny little dots of people hanging off the tower.

IMG_0280

I absolutely recommend that everyone who visits the CN Tower participates in the EdgeWalk. The tickets are pretty pricey, but so are the general tickets to go to the observation deck of the tower. I 100% think it is worth the extra money for this amazing experience.

I honestly feel that no trip to Toronto is complete without visiting the CN Tower in the most extreme way possible. Live life on the edge!

Safe travels! 🙂

-Emily

Leave a Reply

