Moment of “Triomphe” in Paris

When traveling, you will often get suggestions about what to do, where to go, what to eat, and so on.  While we were in Paris, our tour guide told our group that we would get a great view of the city from the Eiffel Tower, so don’t pay to climb any monuments.

Being the rebels we are, Emily and I completely ignored that and climbed the Arc de Triomphe.

Paris51

Since everyone else took the tour guide’s suggestions, we were the only ones in our group who got to have this underrated experience.  At first I was hesitant because it’s A LOT of steps to the top.  I felt like I hadn’t stopped moving since arriving in London a few days before, so I was not particularly thrilled about all the climbing.  In hindsight, I would tell myself to suck it up and just do it (which is what I ended up doing anyway).

Paris57

That statue was pretty much identical to my face when Emily suggested the climb.

Paris52

First, we spent some time on the outside of the monument, admiring this enormous French flag.  The picture doesn’t do it justice.

After the exhausting trek of 284 steps, the entirety of the city welcomed us in all its glory.  It was totally worth it to get a view of Paris with the Eiffel Tower actually in it.  It was a cloudless, sunny day; we seriously could not have asked for a better experience.

Paris55

Paris54

You know how Taylor Swift always makes that excited, surprised face when she wins an award?  People think, “That has to be fake.  She’s used to it by now.”  I get it though.  Every time I get to see a new city, especially one as incomparably gorgeous as Paris, I feel the same.  That feeling of awe and wonder never wears off.

Keep climbing, fellow travelers.  There’s nothing like the view from the top.  🙂

-Ali

Leave a Reply

