Reflecting on 2015

Looking back on 2015, it’s hard to believe all that has happened. I traveled to five new countries (UK, Italy, Vatican City, Greece, and Canada), got to revisit my favorite city in the world (Paris), and actually half-way figured out what I want to do with my life and future (which may be the most amazing thing on this list).

 

IMG_9053

I kicked the year off with my first ever trip to Chicago in March.  I’ve lived about 5 hours away from the city my whole life, but this was my first time properly exploring the city. I absolutely loved it and am determined to go back, hopefully during the summer.

IMG_6860IMG_6996

Oddly enough, my favorite part of the trip was eating authentic, deep-dish Chicago pizza. Even after visiting Italy, I still stand by my statement that the best pizza I’ve ever had was at a local pizza restaurant in Chicago.

 

A week later, I got to see my favorite movie of all-time in musical form. “The Lion King” was one of the most magical musical I have ever seen, followed only by “Wicked.”

IMG_7131

 

The following week, I traveled to St. Louis with Ali to see John Mulaney. His stand-up did not disappoint, and I got to see a part of St. Louis I had never explored.

IMG_7182

 

For Mother’s Day, my family visited the Garden of the Gods in southern Illinois. When I was younger, we would visit at least once a summer, but it had been several years since I had been there. However, it was just a beautiful as I had remembered.

IMG_7829.JPG

 

Later in the month, I visited the Funky Bones sculpture from The Fault in Our Stars in Indianapolis. This would be my last adventure before heading to Europe!

IMG_7938.JPG

 

Two weeks later, Ali and I drove to Louisville and boarded a plane to Europe. (Actually we flew to D.C. first and then flew to Europe, but same difference.)

IMG_8354IMG_8982IMG_9340IMG_9527IMG_9637IMG_9821

 

After the most incredible adventure of my life, I spent a week back at work before leaving again to head to Niagara Falls and Toronto.

IMG_1455.JPG

IMG_0302.jpg

 

In October, I headed to Louisville (for the fourth time that year) with Ali and some of our other friends. We got to write our life goal on the “Before I Die…” wall (of course our goal was travel related), and we went to a Halloween pumpkin walk.

IMG_1121

IMG_1136

I had so many grand adventures in 2015, it’s hard to believe that 2016 will be able to top it. However, I realized that you don’t have to travel halfway around the world to have adventures, because there are so many things left to see right here in the United States.

Ali and I have some West coast adventures planned for March, and I have a handful of major cities that are within driving distance that I want to explore throughout the year.

 

The odds of me leaving the country this year are slim to none (however I’m still hoping that I can somehow make this happen), but even if I stay right here at home, it doesn’t mean that I won’t have just as great of a year. Regardless of my ability to go abroad, 2016 will be what I make of it, and I’m planning on having an amazing year. 

 

 

Happy travels! 🙂

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2015

Leave a Reply

