Stonehenge Rocks!

London was perfect in every way.  It had been my number one international dream destination for as long as I could remember.  But as I mentioned with Oxford, I think I fell even more in love with the areas a couple hours outside of London.  On the same gorgeous day I met my city-soulmate Oxford, Emily and I also got to see the gorgeous, mysterious Stonehenge.

London114

Before going, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.  I didn’t know how you could spend more than a couple of minutes looking at some boulders.  But when we got there, our group was given listening devices to follow along with.  As you can see, Emily and I took them very seriously.

London117

I don’t think pictures really do justice to how big these boulders are.  Supposedly it took an estimated thirty million hours of human labour to create this structure.  Speculation about the purpose of Stonehenge is probably the most fascinating thing to me.  What did those people need this monument for back in 3100 BC?  I love a good unsolved mystery.  Bonus points for this one being so beautiful.

London109

London112

Because Stonehenge is in rural Wiltshire surrounded by vast fields, it is very windy!  You can tell by my hair in the picture below.

London116

The visitors’ center/gift shop area is a short bus ride back up the hill.  You can walk if you want, but it’s a bit of a trek.  Emily and I rode the bus both ways; as much walking as you do while traveling, you can take shortcuts sometimes without feeling guilty.  Back up by the gift shop was a boulder you could push on to test your strength.  It didn’t work properly, but Emily and I took a picture anyway.

London115

It was a small part of our day but most definitely worth the journey.  Most things are. 🙂

Stay curious!

-Ali

Leave a Reply

