Blown Away: Seattle Part 2

There she is in all her glory:  the Space Needle.  No trip to Seattle would be complete without a visit to this famous structure.  We were (almost literally) blown away by the sight of this beautiful landmark.

Seattle13

Fun fact:  when you get a ticket to go to the top of the Space Needle, the kiosk prints out a ticket AND a receipt.  Emily grabbed her ticket.  I grabbed her receipt.  And some lucky winner got Ali Curtner’s ticket and receipt.  However, they don’t scan your ticket until it’s too late to send you away, so you have to awkwardly explain to the impatient employee that yes, you paid for a ticket, and you’re just an idiot who forgot to grab it.  The joyful fellow scanning the tickets mumbled, “Happens all the time.”  I was not convinced.

Oh well!  Emily and I both made it where we needed to be.  Out on the deck of the Space Needle, I was reminded of the Eiffel Tower.  Except the gale-force wind up in the Needle was more intense.  Seattle is known for its rain, but I just don’t think the wind gets enough credit.

We’re definitely ready for our modeling careers.

I had no idea about Chihuly Garden and Glass until we arrived at the Space Needle.  We bought tickets that admitted us to both sites.  I, of course, had to go track mine down at the ticket office to be re-printed.  Minor inconvenience aside, we had an awe-inspiring experience.  So many amazing sculptures made completely of glass.

Seattle28

seattle31

What a magical view.

I was in love with this city.  I still am.  I’d go back in a heartbeat (if I didn’t have so many unseen destinations I feel the need to visit first).

Emily and I love the quirks of a city that give it character.  One such quirk of Seattle is the Fremont Troll.  It’s a troll statue located under the George Washington Memorial Bridge in the Fremont neighborhood.  Its address is actually Troll Avenue.  Seattle, you’re killing me with cuteness.

 

 

We love him.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for blue…eye.

Along with seeing these sights, Emily and I tried some interesting cuisine.  Nothing unheard of, but still unlike anything we’d find back in our small town midwestern lives.
Seattle53

I knew of El Salvador, its capital, its location on a map…but I had honestly never considered Salvadorian cuisine to even be an option.  This is why we travel!  It’s fatal to our cultural ignorances.  El Salvador’s specialty is its pupusas.  That’s the tortilla-type thing in the picture.  I found out Salvadorian is not my favorite type of food, but I’m absolutely glad I tried it.  You never know unless you try!  We also ate Thai food, which was not entirely new to me, but I now know I love pad see ew.  Little piece of advice for you fellow travelers:  try everything.  If not now, when?

After a little more exploring and a lot of walking, Emily and I packed up, hopped on a train, boarded a plane, and headed back to our homes.  This was the first time after a trip that I was not super excited to get back home.  I had fallen in love with Seattle and San Francisco enough to know I did not belong in a small town.  My plan to move to St. Louis was solidified even more after this adventure.  As I’ve matured, I’ve outgrown my little hermit crab shell of small town life.  I can’t wait to share with you all the best parts of my city.

 

Keep going! 🙂

-Ali

 

2 thoughts on “Blown Away: Seattle Part 2

Leave a Reply

